FCT SWAN Returns To The Polls, 10 May


By Mazi Jaka

The Electoral Committee of the 2024 FCT SWAN elections, has fixed Friday 10 May 2024 for the concluding part of the elections.

It could be recalled that the elections held on Friday 26 April 2024, winners could not emerge in the positions of the Chairman and the Treasurer.

In the Chairmanship position where Folusho Alade Oyekan, Tolulope Oguntimehin and Kelechi Onwudiwe contested, Oguntimehin and Onwudiwe polled 64 votes each, while Oyekan scored 8 votes. A total of 136 votes were cast. Both candidates agreed to go for a second ballot on a new date.

Same was the scenario in the position of the Treasurer where Jean Frances Nweze and Taofeek Lawal tied on 88 votes.

Announcing the new date for the concluding paper of the election, the SWANECO Chairman Patrick Ngwaogu (Odogwu) said after meeting with his members, they have resolved to fix Friday 10 May 2024 for the concluding part of the election.

Ngwaogu was full of appreciation to the members for the orderly manners they presented themselves all through the elections of 26th April. He was full of praises to the National leadership of SWAN for standing solidly behind them.

During the 26 April elections, the chairman of the FCT SWAN Electoral Committee (SWANECO), Patrick Ngwaogu had called for the affirmation of the unopposed candidates comprising of , Niyi Busari as Financial Secretary, Samuel Ahmadu as Secretary and Victor Okoye as the vice chairman.

However, Friday Joshua emerged as the newly elected assistant secretary as he polled 104 votes to defeat Nonso Arinzechukwu who got 32 votes. Joan Iwuchukwu was elected as welfare officer. She got 88 votes to beat Busayo Olowookere who garnered 48 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here